FIQ (Fédération Interprofessionnelle de la santé du Québec)

Julie Côté

Respiratory therapist vice-president (FIQ)

CISSS de la Montérégie-Centre

Dear members of the delegation,

I am submitting my candidacy for the position of vice-president responsible for the OHS Sector and team, Human Resources, and joint officer for the Social Security – Insurance Sector.

I have been a respiratory therapist since 2004, and union rep since 2010. During that time, I held different positions: respiratory therapist vice-president, secretary for the temporary executive committee, vice-president of the Hôpital du Haut-Richelieu and union grievance agent at the Hôpital du Haut-Richelieu. I also took on certain interim positions, which helped me demonstrate my versatility and adaptability. As for federal committees, I was on the Youth Committee from 2011 to 2014, the online grievance committee, the MOT ad hoc committee, and the respiratory therapist tactical committee.

I like talking with people, debating ideas in order to find the best ones, and participating in projects to understand and get things moving. To that end, in recent years I sat on the board of directors for the Notre-Dame de Lourdes school in Iberville, and I was a leader for the support group Phobies Zéro in St-Hubert.

I am currently furthering my knowledge in human resources, and in parallel, I am looking further into social security, because let’s be honest, there will be many challenges in the coming years due to the health crisis and its effects on healthcare professionals: professional burnout, preventive withdrawal or reassignment of immunosuppressed individuals, absences caused by salary insurance, etc.

As a respiratory therapist, it’s important to continue to raise awareness about this great profession and walk a path that will help it to grow and evolve.

I am of the opinion that the best decisions are made as a group, by consulting people so as to consider everyone’s opinion because nothing is truly black and white, but rather a shade of grey. It is important that healthcare professionals truly understand the basis for decisions so that they feel involved in them. The FIQ is not only a handful of elected officers, but an organization that includes nearly 76,000 members.

I believe in democracy, social justice, and being part of a society where all women have the same access as men to positions they want and to a career they care about.


Seconded by

Denis Grondin
CISSS de la Montérégie-Centre

Julie Boivin
CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean

FIQ (Fédération Interprofessionnelle de la santé du Québec)

Julie Côté

Vice-présidente poste réservé inhalothérapeute (FIQ)

CISSS de la Montérégie-Centre

Bonjour chères membres de la délégation,

Je vous soumets ma candidature au poste de vice-présidente responsable du secteur et de l’équipe SST, des ressources humaines et coresponsable du secteur Sécurité sociale-Assurances.

Inhalothérapeute depuis 2004, je suis militante depuis 2010, période au cours de laquelle j’ai occupé divers postes : vice-présidente inhalothérapeute, secrétaire de l’exécutif transitoire, vice-présidente de l’Hôpital du Haut-Richelieu et agente syndicale de l’Hôpital du Haut-Richelieu. J’ai également assumé certains intérims au fil du temps me permettant de démontrer ma polyvalence et ma capacité d’adaptation. Pour les comités fédéraux, j’ai pris part au comité jeunes de 2011 à 2014, au comité du grief en ligne, au comité ad hoc TSO et au comité tactique inhalothérapeutes.

J’aime discuter avec les gens, débattre des idées pour en faire ressortir le meilleur et m’impliquer dans les projets pour comprendre et faire bouger les choses. À cet effet, j’ai pris part dans les dernières années au sein du conseil d’administration de l’école Notre-Dame de Lourdes d’Iberville et j’ai agi à titre d’animatrice pour le groupe de soutien de Phobies Zéro de St-Hubert.

Je suis présentement à parfaire mes connaissances dans le domaine des ressources humaines ce qui m’amène par la même occasion à approfondir le sujet de la sécurité sociale car il ne faut pas se le cacher, les prochaines années seront semées de nombreux défis pour faire suite à la crise sanitaire avec ses effets sur les professionnelles en soins : épuisement professionnel, retrait préventif ou réaffectation des immunosupprimées, plusieurs absences causées par de l’assurance salaire et j’en passe.

À titre d’inhalothérapeute, il faut continuer de faire connaître cette belle profession et poursuivre le chemin qui la fera grandir et évoluer.

Je suis de cet avis que les meilleures décisions se prennent en groupe, en consultant les gens afin de prendre en considération l’avis de tous et en expliquant les fondements des décisions afin que toutes les professionnelles se sentent impliquées.

Je crois en la démocratie, la justice sociale et l’implication dans une société où toutes les femmes ont les mêmes chances que les hommes d’accéder aux postes qu’elles désirent et à une carrière qui les passionnent.


Appuyée par

Denis Grondin
CISSS de la Montérégie-Centre

Julie Boivin
CIUSSS du Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean