Health Minister Christian Dubé’s reform will fundamentally transform the management of the health and social services network in Quebec by grouping together all institutions, except those in the Far North, under the umbrella of Santé Québec. This new agency will become the sole employer of the 350,000 employees in the public health and social services network.

The Act respecting the governance of the health and social services system, (formerly Bill 15) introduces the biggest legislative reform since the passing of the Civil Code. It was passed in December 2023 under a gag order, an anti-democratic process that allows the CAQ government to impose its adoption. It is a particularly worrying process given the scope of the project.

As soon as Minister Dubé announced his intentions to reform the health network, the Federation stepped up its interventions to influence this reform for the 80,000 healthcare professionals it represents, but also to ensure access to safe, quality care and services for the population.

The FIQ has been monitoring this file for several months since this reform will have major impacts on healthcare professionals. To help you understand it better, the Federation is providing the information that is currently available. It is important to note that there are still many uncertainties regarding the implementation of the reform, in particular its impacts on the daily activities of healthcare professionals. This webpage will be updated regularly to reflect the government’s announcements.

Logical follow-up to past reforms

The health and social services network has gone through many reforms in the last few decades. The Couillard reform in 2003, the Barrette reform in 2015, and now the Dubé reform in 2024. Each of these reforms has made our health network more fragile by merging centres of activities with varied vocations, by further centralizing decision-making in the hands of high-placed decision-makers, by reducing access to preventive services and by creating an ever-growing dependence on the private sector.

Minister Christian Dubé is no different from his predecessors; Santé Québec is a logical continuation of the past reforms. We are witnessing the culmination of the major past reforms imposed in the health network. And there is no doubt that the last ones did not improve healthcare professionals’ working conditions, nor did they improve care conditions in Quebec.

The Dubé reform in brief

The Dubé reform allowed for the creation of the Santé Québec agency on April 29, 2024. This public corporation will be the employer of 350,000 employees in the Quebec health network, becoming one of the biggest employers in Canada, second only to the federal government. Creating this single employer will lead to the merging of institutions, and thus employers. The organization of the territory should remain intact in the form of a sub-structure of Santé Québec.

Santé Québec will also have the power to coordinate and support private institutions and other providers, thus blurring any lines between public and private. This a major and dangerous shift. Indeed, according to Minister Christian Dubé, the goal of opening up the service offer to the private sector is to improve care access, but it is well known that opening to the private sector has the opposite effect as it monopolizes the limited resources of the public network. It was with this in mind that in 2023 the FIQ joined the “La réforme Dubé, tout sauf santé” campaign led by several labour and community organizations.

The agency is separate from the Ministry of Health and Social Services (MSSS) and its mission is to coordinate activities in the field, leaving the MSSS solely responsible for political orientations and programs, which in a way removes accountability from the ministry to the network employees.

Changes are needed in Quebec’s health network, but the FIQ can clearly see that this structural reform does not respond to the most obvious needs. Civil society and the Federation issued several recommendations to reframe the reform to fit the network’s needs. Minister Dubé did not take the FIQ’s 30 recommendations into consideration. As such, the FIQ and its affiliated unions will continue to denounce this reform, which aligns with the current government’s anti-feminist, anti-democratic, and anti-union leanings.

Besides the creation of Santé Québec, this reform aligns with three other main areas :

Minister Christian Dubé claims he is prioritizing proximity management in his reform by making managers more accountable and accessible.

The Santé Québec superstructure and the revision of the composition of the boards of directors points to the opposite happening. Indeed, healthcare professionals and patients will be less represented in decision-making meetings to the benefit of the business sector. This distancing of management from care is a major concern for the FIQ. It is essential that the needs and issues in the field are heard to guarantee adaptation to local specificities, as well as to guarantee safe, quality care for the population.

This reform foreshadows a standardization of care and management practices and the FIQ fears that managers will not have much accountability.

The government is planning for services to be provided to the population from now on by public and private institutions, without distinction. Minister Dubé refused to prioritize the public network and to stipulate that Santé Québec would be a not-for-profit organization. That could put the preservation of Quebec’s public, accessible, universal network at risk.

There is no data that shows that the private sector improves access to health care, but there is an abundance of documentation that shows that interweaving the private sector into the public network will be extremely costly for the province and the population who fund public services through taxes. Private companies charge more for the same services provided in the public system, in addition to seizing the public network’s limited resources.

Care continuity will also likely be affected by the normalization of the routine transfer of patients between public and private institutions and, possibly, between regions.

The patient experience relies on complaint and risk management and service quality monitoring using satisfaction surveys. A provincial register of incidents and accidents will be created, and a provincial patient committee will be responsible for evaluating the patient experience. All of these tools will make it possible to categorize institutions based on the quality of care they offer.

A number of these initiatives are welcome, but in addition to the patient experience, it is necessary to add care indicators measured by healthcare professionals, as well as safe healthcare professional-to-patient ratios to promote access to safe, quality care.

The impacts on healthcare professionals’ rights

The Dubé reform has significant impacts on healthcare professionals’ rights, especially with regard to the defense of their working conditions. By merging healthcare institutions under one employer, the law provides for the merging of existing union certifications and one sole certification for each of the six job classes in the health network. So, in the medium term, local unions will eventually disappear, dismantling the current structures and creating major challenges for union democracy.

Here is a general timeline with the major steps of the implementation of Santé Québec that will impact the defense of healthcare professionals’ working conditions. Please note that these dates are approximate and are subject to change at any time by the government.

December 1, 2024
Administrative merging of employers

Santé Québec will become the employer of almost all healthcare employees. The union certification units will continue to exist, and the provincial and local collective agreements will continue to apply until they are renegotiated.

Fall 2025 to winter 2026
Period of union allegiance voting

A period for union allegiance voting is planned for the members of the six new job classes. Each one must choose the labour organization that will represent them across all of Quebec.

Winter 2026
Certification of new unions and merging of certifications

The Administrative Labour Tribunal (TAT) certifies the union that obtains the most votes from each of the classes to represent all members in that class. It’s the merging of union certification units, but the collective agreements will continue to apply as they are for 18 months, until they are renegotiated.

Winter 2026 to summer 2027
Negotiation of the “local” collective agreement

The newly certified union negotiates a single “local” collective agreement with Santé Québec for all of the public health and social service institutions in the province, except for the Far North.

Fall 2027 
Seniority list mergers

The seniority lists for all members in public institutions within the same job class will be merged within Santé Québec. That is when we will be able to talk about a real “network seniority.”

From four to six job classes

With the Dubé reform, the job classes in the health network will change. Class one will only include nurses and licensed practical nurses. Respiratory therapists and clinical perfusionists will be grouped with specialized support and cardio-respiratory care technicians and professionals in class six. That includes, for example, medical imaging and radiation oncology.

The government decided to split class one, even though nurses, licensed practical nurses, respiratory therapists and clinical perfusionists have an expertise and a complementary organization of work in direct patient care. This split will be damaging to the organization of work and team stability.

The FIQ spared no effort trying to make Minister Dubé back down to maintain class one in its current form and will continue to fight for this. A petition was submitted to the National Assembly. However, if the transfer to class six goes forward as provided in the law, the FIQ will be part of the labour organizations that can be on the voting ballot for this class. Ultimately, the members will vote for the labour organization they want.

FAQ

No. The bill creating Santé Québec was passed under a gag order on December 9, 2023. As such, it is no longer a bill but a law that is in force and the timeline for deploying Santé Québec is underway.

No. Santé Québec was created on April 29, 2024 through the appointment of Geneviève Biron as the president and CEO and Frédéric Abergel as the executive vice-president of operations and transformation. It is therefore not possible to prevent its creation.

Health Minister Christian Dubé and Treasury Board Chair Sonia LeBel have repeatedly stated that the mobility of healthcare professionals is essential to improving care access in Quebec. However, several studies and much research show that care stability and recognition for healthcare professionals’ expertise are essential to ensuring quality care.

For several months, the FIQ has been endeavouring to understand the employers’ needs with regard to mobility to be able to propose adapted solutions that respect healthcare professionals’ rights and ensure quality of care for patients.

The FIQ is actively fighting to keep respiratory therapists and clinical perfusionists in class one. However, if the transfer to class six goes forward as provided in the law, the FIQ will be part of the labour organizations that can be on the voting ballot for this class. Ultimately, the members will vote for the labour organization they want.

The merging of institutions under one employer does not immediately implement network seniority. According to the current timeline, the merging of seniority lists is planned for the fall of 2027. That is when accumulated seniority will be transferable to the whole network.

It is not possible to answer this question with the information that is currently available. How will scheduling, payroll services and benefits be managed in the new Santé Québec structure? We can expect changes and a standardization of management methods in institutions. Rest assured that the FIQ is actively seeking answers to these questions and will use every platform to represent its members.

The goal of the current negotiations is to agree on the provincial provisions of the collective agreement. These terms and conditions, once adopted by the members, will apply until the parties renegotiate them (in 2028), so, even after the implementation of Santé Québec.

As such, even if respiratory therapists and clinical perfusionists change job classes and unions, the current negotiated provincial collective agreement will still apply to them until 2028 at the very least.

A number of feminist organizations, including the FIQ, have denounced the Dubé reform as anti-feminist. Women will be the most affected by the negative effects of this reform. They will be affected as employees, since the reform does not tackle healthcare professionals’ poor working conditions, and as care givers and patients, since they will be the first affected by the network’s blatant failings in providing care.

Moreover, an open letter was published to denounce the exploitation of women in this reform.

Since 2005, with the Couillard reform, healthcare professionals’ working conditions have been negotiated on two levels: locally, which excludes monetary terms and conditions as they are exclusively handled in provincial negotiations. Local negotiations include the concepts of a centre of activities and reassignment, posting and elements of positions, schedules, days off and vacation. With the current reform, there will be a single “local” collective agreement with Santé Québec for all of the public health and social service institutions in the province, except for the Far North. The only thing local about this agreement will be its name, which is why the FIQ is demanding that these matters be reintegrated into provincial negotiations.

The legal framework of local negotiations is very different from that of provincial negotiations and entails much weaker bargaining power for workers and the union party. For example, the right to strike is prohibited in local negotiations.

This suggests that the government would like to use this different legal framework to its advantage, even if it creates significant inconsistency. It is definitely strange to qualify this collective agreement as “local” when it will be a single agreement that will apply to all of the members of the public health and social service institutions in the province, except in the Far North.

That is why the FIQ is denouncing this anti-union opportunism and demanding that these matters be reintegrated into provincial negotiations.

La réforme du ministre de la Santé, Christian Dubé, transformera fondamentalement la gestion du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux au Québec en regroupant tous les établissements publics, excluant ceux du Grand-Nord, sous l’égide de l’agence Santé Québec. Cette nouvelle agence deviendra l’employeur unique des 350 000 employé-e-s du réseau public de la santé et des services sociaux. 

La Loi sur la gouvernance du système de santé et de services sociaux (auparavant projet de loi n° 15) introduit la plus grande réforme législative depuis l’adoption du Code civil. Or, son adoption en décembre 2023 a été faite sous le bâillon, une procédure législative antidémocratique permettant au gouvernement de la CAQ d’imposer son adoption. Un processus particulièrement inquiétant considérant l’ampleur de ce projet. 

Dès que le ministre Dubé a annoncé ses intentions de réformer le réseau de la santé, la Fédération a multiplié ses interventions afin d’influencer cette réforme pour les 80 000 professionnelles en soins qu’elle représente, mais également pour s’assurer de l’accès à des soins et des services de qualité et sécuritaires pour la population. 

La FIQ suit depuis plusieurs mois ce dossier puisque cette réforme aura des impacts importants sur les professionnelles en soins. Pour vous aider à y voir plus clair, la Fédération met à votre disposition l’information disponible actuellement. Il est important de noter que de nombreuses incertitudes demeurent quant à la mise en place de cette réforme, notamment sur ses impacts concrets dans le quotidien des professionnelles en soins. Cette page Web sera mise à jour régulièrement pour refléter les annonces du gouvernement. 

Suite logique des réformes du passé

Le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux a subi maintes réformes au cours des dernières décennies. La réforme Couillard en 2003, la réforme Barrette en 2015, et maintenant la réforme Dubé en 2024. Chacune de ces réformes a contribué à fragiliser notre réseau de la santé en fusionnant des centres d’activités à vocations variées, en centralisant davantage la prise de décision entre les mains de décideurs haut placés, en diminuant l’accès aux services de prévention et en créant une dépendance toujours plus grande envers le privé. 

Le ministre Christian Dubé n’est pas différent de ses prédécesseurs; l’agence Santé Québec s’inscrit dans une suite logique des réformes du passé. Nous assistons à l’aboutissement des grandes réformes antérieures imposées dans le réseau de la santé. Pourtant, il ne fait aucun doute que ces dernières n’ont ni amélioré les conditions de travail des professionnelles en soins ni les conditions des soins au Québec. 

La réforme Dubé en bref

La réforme Dubé a permis la création de l’agence Santé Québec, le 29 avril 2024. Cette société d’État sera l’employeur de 350 000 salarié-e-s du réseau de la santé au Québec, devenant ainsi l’un des plus gros employeurs au Canada, juste derrière le gouvernement fédéral. La création de cet employeur unique va engendrer la fusion des établissements, donc des employeurs, mais l’organisation du territoire devrait continuer d’exister, sous forme de sous-structure de Santé Québec. Les établissements privés conventionnés et les établissements du Grand-Nord ne sont pas touchés par cette fusion.

L’agence Santé Québec aura également le pouvoir de coordonner et de soutenir des établissements privés et autres prestataires, éliminant ainsi toute distinction entre le public et le privé. Ceci représente un virage important et dangereux. En effet, selon le ministre Christian Dubé, l’objectif d’ouvrir l’offre de services au privé est d’améliorer l’accès aux soins, mais il est bien connu que l’ouverture vers le privé a plutôt l’effet inverse en s’accaparant les ressources limitées du réseau public. C’est dans cette optique que la FIQ se joint en 2023 à la campagne « La réforme Dubé, tout sauf santé », campagne portée par plusieurs organisations syndicales et communautaires.

Cette agence est séparée du ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) et a pour mission de coordonner les activités sur le terrain, laissant le MSSS responsable uniquement des orientations politiques et des programmes, permettant ainsi une forme de déresponsabilisation du ministère envers les employé-e-s du réseau.

Des changements sont nécessaires dans le réseau de la santé du Québec, mais il est clair pour la FIQ que cette réforme de structure ne répond pas aux besoins les plus criants. Plusieurs recommandations avaient été émises par la société civile et par la Fédération pour recadrer cette réforme dans les besoins du réseau, les 30 recommandations de la FIQ n’ont pas été considérées par le ministre Dubé. Ainsi, la FIQ et ses syndicats affiliés continueront de dénoncer cette réforme qui s’inscrit dans la lancée antiféministe, antidémocratique et antisyndicale du gouvernement actuel.

Mis à part la création de Santé Québec, cette réforme s’inscrit dans trois autres axes principaux :  

Le ministre Christian Dubé prétend mettre la gestion de proximité de l’avant dans sa réforme en rendant les gestionnaires plus imputables et plus accessibles.

La superstructure de Santé Québec et la révision de la composition des conseils d’administration laissent plutôt présager du contraire. En effet, les professionnelles en soins et les patient-e-s seront moins représenté-e-s dans ces instances décisionnelles au profit du milieu des affaires. Cet éloignement des soins par rapport à la gestion représente une grande préoccupation pour la FIQ. Il est essentiel que les besoins et les enjeux du terrain soient entendus afin de garantir une adaptation aux spécificités locales, mais aussi la qualité et la sécurité des soins pour la population.

Cette réforme laisse présager une standardisation des soins et des pratiques de gestion et la FIQ craint que les gestionnaires soient malheureusement peu imputables.

Le gouvernement prévoit que les services soient dorénavant fournis à la population par les établissements publics et privés, sans distinction. Le ministre Dubé a refusé de prioriser le réseau public et de stipuler que Santé Québec sera un organisme à but non lucratif. Cela pourrait mettre à risque la préservation du réseau public, accessible et universel au Québec.

Aucune donnée ne démontre que le privé améliore l’accès aux soins de santé, mais il est bien documenté que l’imbrication du privé dans le réseau public sera extrêmement coûteuse pour l’État et pour la population qui finance les services publics par les taxes et impôts. Les entreprises privées chargent plus cher pour les mêmes services offerts dans les services publics, en plus d’accaparer les ressources limitées du réseau public.

La continuité des soins risque également d’être affectée par la normalisation du transfert routinier des patient-e-s entre les établissements publics et privés et, possiblement, entre les différentes régions.  

L’expérience patient-e repose sur la gestion des plaintes et des risques et la surveillance de la qualité des services en utilisant des sondages de satisfaction. Un registre national des incidents et des accidents sera créé et un comité national des usager-ère-s sera responsable d’évaluer l’expérience patient-e. L’ensemble de ces outils permettra de classer les établissements selon la qualité des soins qu’ils offrent.

Nombre de ces initiatives sont bienvenues, mais au-delà de l’expérience patient-e, il est nécessaire d’ajouter des indicateurs de soins mesurés par les professionnelles en soins, ainsi que des ratios sécuritaires professionnelles en soins/patient-e-s pour favoriser l’accès, la qualité et la sécurité des soins.

Les impacts sur les droits des professionnelles en soins 

La réforme Dubé a des impacts importants sur les droits des professionnelles en soins, notamment en lien avec la défense de leurs conditions de travail. En fusionnant les établissements de santé en un seul employeur, la loi prévoit la fusion des accréditations syndicales existantes et une accréditation unique pour chacune des 6 catégories d’emploi qui composent le réseau de la santé. Ainsi, à moyen terme, les syndicats locaux sont voués à disparaître, démantelant les structures actuelles et posant des défis importants pour la démocratie syndicale.  

Voici une ligne du temps détaillant les grandes étapes de la mise en place de Santé Québec qui auront des impacts sur la défense des conditions de travail des professionnelles en soins. À noter que les dates projetées sont approximatives et pourraient être modifiées à tout moment par le gouvernement.  

1erdécembre 2024
Fusion administrative des employeurs

Santé Québec devient l’employeur de près de la totalité des employé-e-s de la santé. Les unités d’accréditations syndicales continuent d’exister et les conventions collectives nationales et locales, continuent de s’appliquer jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient renégociées

Automne 2025 à hiver 2026
Période de vote d’allégeance syndicale

Une période de vote d’allégeance syndicale est prévue pour les membres des six nouvelles catégories d’emplois. Chacune d’elles devra choisir l’organisation syndicale qui les représentera à la grandeur du Québec 

Hiver 2026
Accréditation des nouveaux syndicats et fusion des accréditation

Le Tribunal administratif du travail (TAT) accrédite le syndicat ayant obtenu le plus de votes dans chacune des catégories pour représenter l’ensemble des membres de cette catégorie. C’est la fusion des unités d’accréditation syndicale, mais les conventions collectives continuent de s’appliquer telle quel pour un délai de 18 mois, jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient renégociées.  

Hiver 2026 à été 2027
Négociation de la convention collective «locale» 

Le syndicat nouvellement accrédité négocie avec l’agence Santé Québec une convention collective «locale» unique pour l’ensemble des établissements

Automne 2027 
Fusion des listes d’ancienneté

Les listes d’ancienneté de l’ensemble des membres des établissements publics d’une même catégorie d’emploi sont fusionnées au sein de Santé Québec. C’est à ce moment que l’on pourra parler d’une réelle «ancienneté réseau». 

De 4 à 6 catégories d’emplois 

Avec la réforme Dubé, les catégories d’emplois dans le réseau de la santé sont modifiées. La catégorie 1 regroupera exclusivement les infirmières et infirmières auxiliaires. Les inhalothérapeutes et perfusionnistes cliniques seront quant à elles regroupées avec les techniciennes et professionnelles de soutien spécialisé et en soins cardiorespiratoires dans la catégorie 6. Cela inclut, par exemple, l’imagerie médicale et la radio-oncologie. 

Le gouvernement a décidé de scinder la catégorie 1, même si les infirmières, infirmières auxiliaires, inhalothérapeutes et perfusionnistes cliniques ont une expertise et une organisation du travail complémentaire dans les soins directs donnés aux patient-e-s. Cette scission nuira inévitablement à l’organisation du travail et à la stabilité des équipes.  

La FIQ n’a ménagé aucun effort pour faire reculer le ministre Dubé pour maintenir la catégorie 1 dans sa forme actuelle et continuera à militer en ce sens. Une pétition a d’ailleurs été déposée à l’Assemblée nationale.  Cependant, si le transfert vers la catégorie 6 se concrétise tel que prévu dans la loi, la FIQ fera partie des organisations syndicales qui pourront s’inscrire sur le bulletin de vote pour cette catégorie. Ultimement, ce sont les membres qui voteront pour l’organisation syndicale de leur choix. 

Foire aux questions

Non. Le projet de loi créant Santé Québec a été adopté sous le bâillon le 9 décembre 2023. Il ne s’agit donc plus d’un projet de loi, mais plutôt d’une loi qui est en vigueur et l’échéancier du déploiement de l’agence Santé Québec suit son cours.

Non. L’agence Santé Québec a été créée le 29 avril 2024 par la nomination de Geneviève Biron à titre de présidente et cheffe de la direction (PCD) et de Frédéric Abergel à titre de vice-président exécutif aux opérations et à la transformation. Il n’est donc pas possible de bloquer sa création.

Le ministre de la Santé, Christian Dubé, et Sonia LeBel, présidente du Conseil du trésor, ont à maintes reprises répété que la mobilité des professionnelles en soins est essentielle pour améliorer l’accès aux soins au Québec. Pourtant, plusieurs études et recherches démontrent que la stabilité des soins et la valorisation de l’expertise des professionnelles en soins sont essentielles pour assurer la qualité des soins.

La FIQ s’attelle depuis plusieurs mois à comprendre les besoins des employeurs en lien avec la mobilité pour pouvoir proposer des solutions adaptées qui respectent les droits des professionnelles en soins et qui assurent la qualité des soins offerts à la population.

La FIQ milite activement pour le maintien des inhalothérapeutes et des perfusionnistes cliniques dans la catégorie 1. Cependant, si le transfert vers la catégorie 6 se concrétise tel que prévu dans la loi, la FIQ fera partie des organisations syndicales qui pourront s’inscrire sur le bulletin de vote pour cette catégorie. Ultimement, ce sont les membres qui voteront pour l’organisation syndicale de leur choix. 

La fusion des établissements en un seul employeur n’entraîne pas la mise en place immédiate d’une ancienneté réseau. Selon l’échéancier actuel, la fusion des listes d’ancienneté est prévue pour l’automne 2027. C’est à ce moment-là que l’ancienneté accumulée sera transférable à l’ensemble du réseau.  

Il n’est pas possible de répondre à cette question avec les informations actuellement disponibles. Comment seront gérés la confection des horaires, les services de paie et les avantages sociaux dans la nouvelle structure de Santé Québec? Il faut inévitablement s’attendre à des changements et à une standardisation des modes de gestion des différents établissements. Soyez certaines que la FIQ demeure active pour obtenir des réponses sur ces questions et qu’elle utilisera toutes les tribunes pour représenter ses membres. 

La négociation actuelle vise à convenir des dispositions nationales de la convention collective. Ces modalités, une fois adoptées par les membres, vont continuer de s’appliquer jusqu’à ce qu’elles soient renégociées par les parties (jusqu’en 2028), et ce, même après la mise en place de Santé Québec.

Ainsi, même si les inhalothérapeutes et perfusionnistes cliniques changent de catégorie et de syndicat, la convention collective nationale négociée actuellement continuera de s’appliquer à elles minimalement jusqu’en 2028.

De nombreuses organisations féministes, dont la FIQ, ont dénoncé la réforme Dubé comme étant antiféministe. En effet, ce sont les femmes qui seront le plus touchées par les effets négatifs de cette réforme. Autant comme salariées puisque la réforme ne s’attaque pas aux mauvaises conditions de travail des professionnelles en soins, que comme proche-aidantes et comme usagères qui seront les premières touchées par les manquements flagrants du réseau dans la dispensation des soins.

Une lettre ouverte a d’ailleurs été publiée pour dénoncer l’exploitation du travail des femmes dans cette réforme.

Depuis 2005, avec la réforme Couillard, la négociation des conditions de travail des professionnelles en soins s’effectue à deux niveaux : la négociation locale qui exclue les modalités à incidence monétaires qui elles sont réservées à la négociation nationale. Elle inclut, par exemple, les notions de centre d’activités et de déplacement, l’affichage et les éléments constituants des postes, les horaires, les congés et les vacances. Avec la réforme actuelle, la convention « locale » sera unique pour l’ensemble des établissements publics de santé et de services sociaux de la province, excluant ceux du Grand-Nord. Cette convention n’aura de local que le nom et c’est pourquoi la FIQ demande que ces matières soient réintégrées dans la négociation nationale.

L’encadrement juridique de la négociation locale est bien différent de celui de la négociation nationale et implique un rapport de force nettement défavorable pour les travailleuses et la partie syndicale. Par exemple, le droit de grève est interdit dans le cadre de la négociation locale. 

Ainsi, il est possible de penser que le gouvernement souhaite profiter de ce cadre juridique différent, et ce, même si cela engendre une incohérence importante. Il est certainement curieux de qualifier cette convention collective de « locale », alors qu’elle sera applicable et unique pour l’ensemble des membres des établissements publics de santé et de services sociaux de la province, hormis ceux du Grand-Nord québécois. 

C’est pourquoi la FIQ dénonce cet opportunisme antisyndical et demande que ces matières soient réintégrées dans la négociation nationale.